Sinatra sang about “my kind of town”, but that was Chicago, not New York, and certainly not Las Vegas. When I think of Las Vegas, I pretty much think of The Strip. I don’t think about Henderson or Sumerlin, both nice areas of Vegas that I never visit.  Heck, I don’t even think about the Hoover Dam.


So, after the most recent visit to Vegas, I have to say that it’s just not my kind of town. The Strip, that is. I don’t mean that it’s not a cool place to visit, but I guess it’s just not for me. I don’t gamble. I don’t drink. Partying to me looks more like fine dining then throwing back Corona after Corona in the Golden Nugget at the craps table. I guess of all the things that Vegas is known to offer, I don’t gravitate towards any of them. And this last trip validated that even though Vegas is a great dining town, I would rather visit those establishments [Fleur de Lys, Bouchon, Bouchon, Craft to name a few] at their flagship cities like Napa Valley, San Francisco, or New York than to go to Vegas each time to say that I’ve been to a Thomas Keller or Huber Keller restaurant.

Don’t get me wrong, we had a good time, but I guess rather than visiting these restaurants in Vegas, I would rather visit different cities where these places originally reside. And if I had to be completely honest, staying at hotels where drunk people rampage down the hall yelling, laughing and screaming at two in the morning, just isn’t my thing. Nothing wrong with having a great time, but I guess I’m just too old for it now.

So here’s to Vegas. We’ll go back one day, but if it were up to me, it’ll be quite a while before we go to The Strip again. One fabulous meal doesn’t necessarily make me want to head back right away.


http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Las+Vegas,+NV&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=58.816238,121.289063&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Las+Vegas,+Clark,+Nevada&z=11&ll=36.114646,-115.172816&output=embed View Larger Map

Posted by Picasa

