Egg waffles.  I don’t know how many people on this side of the Pacific has had it, but when you have, it’s tough to forget.  The picture here was taken from the CNNGo Hong Kong website, and it brings back the smell, the taste, the texture, and memories of yore for me.  I can’t remember the first time I had egg waffles, but I know we were still living in Hong Kong.  I must have been less than 8 years old when I had my first and these beauties, known locally as “雞蛋仔”, or “little eggs” were just heaven in a brown paper bag.  Whenever we go back to Hong Kong, I always get one.  Depending on my mood, I’ll get plain, chocolate, taro, coconut, etc.  The egg waffles are light, airy, crispy, and fragrant.  I’ve eaten the ones they have at Tasty Garden in LA and even those don’t compare.  The ones at Tasty Garden are dense and although the taste is similar, it can’t touch these in Hong Kong.  So, I was surprised and happy to see that CNNGo Hong Kong had a post dedicated to these egg waffles.  And little did I know, there is a local rivalry and competition for the claim to be the “best egg waffles” in Hong Kong.

I know they’re just egg waffles.  But then again, they’re not.  When you read the CNNGo post, you realize that these egg waffles are the source of people’s income.  They wake up early, stay out late for those who love a midnight snack, and do it all over again the next day.  For a few HK dollars, you can do the math how many they have to sell to not only break even, but to get a profit to live off of.  Their equipment is old, duct taped together, and seasoned after many years of use.  They’re like the weapons of old time warriors, now aged, reflecting back when times were more violent.  They take out their rusty swords and remember bloodier times.  Like these old warriors, these egg waffle vendors go out there every day.  Probably 7 days a week and never been on vacation.  They continue to seek the perfect recipe.  The perfect combination of ingredients so they can say they have the best “egg waffles” in Hong Kong.  As one of them says:

“It’s all in the secret recipe, which I’ve been perfecting for eight years,” says proprietor Mr Lai. “No one can come close to my flavor. I’m sure of it. That’s why I’m the only guy who will confidently let you try before you buy.”

I can’t wait to go back to Hong Kong to try one, or two, or maybe all of them to rank my own egg waffle battle.  I love being reminded of my childhood in Hong Kong by the taste and smell of food.  And these beauties are right up there that really bring me back.  Why?  Because I haven’t been able to find them here in LA like those in Hong Kong.  But then again, maybe that’s a good thing.  It’ll keep bringing me back.

